Monday, September 13, 2010

Tiada Nepotism dalam PKR!

Selangor divisions propose Anwar, Azizah for top two posts

PETALING JAYA, Thursday 9 September 2010 (Bernama) -- Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) divisions in Selangor have thrown their support behind Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and Datin Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail to lead the party to avoid a split in the party.

Selangor PKR Council of Leadership Consensus Deputy chairman Abdul Kudus Omar said the move would end the much-hyped battle for the deputy president's post in the forthcoming party elections.

The names of incumbent vice president Azmin Ali and Supreme Council member Datuk Zaid Ibrahim were thrown into the race for the deputy president's post.

"We, as grassroot leaders of Selangor PKR, are recommending two options to the party's top leadership. First to agree for status quo by retaining Datin Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail and Senator Syed Husin Ali as President and Deputy President.

"If that cannot be accepted, we are nominating Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim as president and Datin Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail as deputy president," he told reporters at the Petaling Jaya Selatan PKR office here today.

He added that the proposal would put an end to internal politicking during the run up to the nomination and election of deputy president and may also cause a split among the leaders and grassroots.

It was reported that Azmin and Zaid may have been actively promoting themselves as candidates for the deputy president's post.

Zaid had announced his decision to contest but though Azmin has yet to make it official, several PKR Members of Parliament and State assemblymen had declared their support for him.

Abdul Kudus was confident that Azmin and Zaid would eventually pull out of the race for the sake of the party.

He said Wan Azizah was a tested politician who had proven her ability to steer the party through thick and thin and a political turmoil, in the past.

Apart from the top two posts, the PKR elections would also see contests for five vice presidents and 23 Supreme Council members.

MySinchew 2010.09.09

No comments:

Post a Comment